On The Borderline/ Mental Health

A lot can happen in a year….

New year, is an opportunity to reflect on your past 12 months and set some goals for the next, which can only be a positive thing!

2016 has been a life changing one for me. I’m stronger in every way and have accomplished so much and of course it didn’t without its BPD and GAD drama đź’ŞI’ve been working hard with my therapy and psychology, my wounds are healing and regardless of the chaos I’m in a the best place I can be. I feel safe, comfortable and I’m nowhere near the end of my recovery, but I’ll keep working through it.

One of the most important things was I wanted to share something that I still can’t quite believe myself…..

Sometimes I remember my past, the historical abuse, the domestic violence, the mental health torture and instead of being crippled by them I think… Oh My God, I haven’t thought about that for days! Those awful thoughts haven’t even crossed my mind for longer than a day.

It may seem like a small thing, but it’s my biggest personal achievement this year I even went longer than a week without feeling that horrible feeling in the pit of my stomach.  I think I have found some closure after 28 years of hell. I’m beginning to see my strengths and use them to help me through the tough times, hearing my own voice and not depended on people as much as I thought I needed to.

I’m definitely not the same person I was at the start of this year. I’m devoting the next year to loving myself more, trying not to give in to my self-doubt, travelling more and exploring, appreciating the amazing man in my life and focusing on my little girl growing up `👸

Happy New Year from Bridget Of The North

Leave a comment